KANSAS CITY – UNC Asheville senior forward Jeremy Atkinson was named to the National Association of Basketball Coaches second team All-District team. The announcement was made today by the NABC and is voted on by members coaches of the organization.  


Atkinson made the five-man District 3 second team along with John Brown and Allan Chaney of High Point. Stan Okoye of VMI, Saah Nimley of Charleston Southern and Anthony Raffa of Coastal Carolina made the District 3 first team.


The Elm City native enjoyed an excellent senior season as he earned first team Big South All-Conference honors. He finished the season as Asheville’s leading scorer (17.8) and rebounder (7.1). He was second on the club in steals (50) and free throw percentage (.810). Atkinson scored in double figures in 31 of the Bulldogs 32 games this past year, including a 31-point outburst at St. John’s on Dec. 21 when Asheville upset the Red Storm, 72-65.


Atkinson’s selection marks the second straight year the Bulldogs have gotten somebody on the NABC All-District team. Matt Dickey and J.P. Primm made the first team last season.