RALEIGH, N.C. — The North Carolina Sports Hall of Fame has announces its 2014 inductees and former UNC Asheville head men’s basketball coach Eddie Biedenbach is one of the nine inductees.


            Along with Biedenbach, the class consists of  A. J. Carr, Bob Colvin, Randy Denton, Lee Gliarmis, Marshall Happer, Rodney Rogers, Bob Waters (posthumously), and Frank Weedon (posthumously).


            They will be enshrined at the 51st annual induction banquet on the evening of Friday, May 9, at the Raleigh Convention Center. An afternoon news conference will be held Thursday, May 8, at 4 p.m. at the N.C. Museum of History, home of the exhibit N.C. Sports Hall of Fame, located at 5 East Edenton Street in Raleigh.


            “The achievements of this year’s class of inductees enrich North Carolina’s remarkable sports heritage, and they certainly earned the honor of joining the 300 men and women who have been previously enshrined,” said Fredrick Reese, president of the Hall. “This is our 51st class and we will have a program to celebrate this special time in our state’s sports history."


              Biedenbach was Asheville’s head coach for 17 years from 1996 through last season. He led the program to its greatest heights in the Division I era. The Bulldogs captured five Big South Conference regular-season titles, three Big South Tournament championships, advanced to the NCAA Tournament three times and been in post-season play four times during his tenure. The Pittsburgh native was named Big South Conference Coach of the Year three times (1997, 2002, 2008).  


              He is the school’s and Big South’s all-time winningest coach with 266 victories. Biedenbach is also the league’s all-time winningest coach for conference wins (156) and tournament victories (20).


               Biedenbach left after last season to accept an assistant coaching position at UNC Wilmington.