JOHNSON CITY, TENN. – Andy Thornburg captured the 3000 meters to highlight UNC Asheville’s performance on the second and final day of the Niswonger Invitational at ETSU Saturday.


Thornburg took first place in the 3000 with a time of 9:07.46. Nathan Kirse finished eighth in the event at 9:23.99.


On the women’s side, Kelsie Rubino finished fourth in the mile invitational at a time of 5:11.39. In the unseeded mile, Asheville went 3-4-5. Rachel Carson finished third (5:20.57), Kylie Smith fourth (5:20.74) and Sarah Heisner fifth (5:25.31).


In the 3000 meters invitational, Erin Dalton came in sixth at 10:30.63. Adrian Etheridge finished 10th (11:12.60).


In the one mile run, Caleb Smith came in fourth place as he posted a time of 4:25.91. Patrick Osborne came in 10th at 4:29.86


John Bellard took 10th in the high jump (1.88 meters). Kurt Hibert finished 13th in the shot put (13.12 meters).


Asheville had two relay teams finish in the top seven in the Distance Medley. The Bulldogs “A” team of Kylie Smith, Kassandra Pierre, Rachel Carson and Sarah Heisner took fifth with a time of 12:47.43 The “B” team of Amy Castle, Anna Gelbach, Scarlett Beamon and Katie Gamble came in seventh at a time of 13:05.60


The men’s Distance Medley team also had strong races as the “A” team finished sixth and the “B” team took seventh. The A team of Caleb Smith, Sebastian Paniagua, Patrick Osborne and Dominic Collichio posted a time of 10:48.19. The B team of Jeremy Gower, Chase Stevens, Ryan Catrine and Nathan Kirse had a time of 11:00.03