UNC Asheville Women' Swimming Program to join CCSA

Courtesy: UNCABulldogs.com
Release: November 15, 2011
Send this article to a friend Print RSS
Share |
Article Image
Courtesy: UNC Asheville

CHARLOTTE, N.C. (TheCCSA.com) - The Coastal Collegiate Swimming Association (CCSA) announced today that UNC Asheville will join the Conference as a member for women's swimming and diving starting in the 2012-13 academic year.  As a member of the Big South Conference, UNC Asheville will become the sixth member from the League and 14th overall to compete in the CCSA.

"We are very pleased to officially announce the expansion of the Coastal Collegiate Swimming Association to accept UNC Asheville as a member for women's swimming and diving next season," said CCSA Executive Director Ted Gumbart.  "The CCSA has been a very successful joint effort among the four governing Conferences, and the addition of the Bulldogs brings another strong institution committed to student-athlete achievement - in the classroom and in competition.  We look forward to working with UNC Asheville and the Bulldog swim program as we continue the growth of the CCSA."

The university had previously fielded a co-ed swimming and diving program from 1972 through 1976 that was coached by Asheville native Betsy Montgomery.

"We are delighted to be joining the Coastal Collegiate Swimming Association," stated UNC Asheville's Athletic Director Janet Cone. "Having an opportunity for our women swimmers to compete in an association with institutions that are committed to both academic and athletic excellence and growing collegiate swimming in our region was one of the factors in our decision to bring back women's swimming."

The Bulldogs will practice and compete in the university's Justice Center swimming pool. The Justice Center is part of the complex that includes the Student Recreation Center and the newly completed Wilma M. Sherrill Center, which houses Kimmel Arena and the North Carolina Center for Health & Wellness.


The Coastal Collegiate Swimming Association will enter its fifth season as a NCAA Division I men's and women's swimming and diving conference in 2011-12.  Formed on July 10, 2007, the CCSA is comprised of schools from the Atlantic Sun Conference, Big South Conference, Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference, and Southern Conference.  The 13 women's members are Campbell, College of Charleston, Davidson, Florida A&M, Florida Gulf Coast, Gardner-Webb, Georgia Southern, Howard, Liberty, North Carolina A&T, North Florida, Radford and VMI.  The six men's swimming members are College of Charleston, Davidson, Florida A&M, Gardner-Webb, Howard and VMI.


Watch Bulldog Athletics Live on the Big South Network

JOIN  |  
Women's Swimming vs. North Carolina A&T
Watch UNC Asheville's entire exhibition swim meet with Mars Hill College, from Saturday, Sept. 22,...
An interview with head women's swimming coach Elizabeth Lykins before her team's first practice.