Uploaded Ad
Courtesy: UNC Asheville
ASHBY Award-Winners Announced
Release: 04/22/2013

ASHEVILLE, N.C. – The UNC Asheville Athletics Department celebrated the 2012-13 academic year on Sunday night at Kimmel Arena with its annual ASHBY’S awards ceremony.


Each team gave out a Bulldog and Scholar-Athlete award, while there were awards for different categories that were voted by the student-athletes or selected by the Athletics Department administration.


Below is a list of the ASHBY award winners that were voted on by the student-athletes or selected by the Athletics Department administration.


Best Moment: Women’s Soccer dramatic overtime win over Gardner-Webb


Record-Breaking Moment: Women’s Distance Medley Relay Team in Indoor Track winning Big South championship in record time.


Best Underdog Moment: Women’s Swimming’ surprising finish at Coastal Collegiate Swimming Association


Male Crush Award: Men’s Basketball’s Jeremy Atkinson hitting 65-footer against High Point in Kimmel Arena.


Female Crush Award: Volleyball upset win vs. Liberty


Best Blooper: Kurt Hibert in Track and Field


Best Championship Performance: Milan Ristic qualifying for NCAA National Indoor Championships.


Best Post-Game Celebration: Baseball team getting heads shaved after win over Western Carolina at McCormick Field to raise money for fight against Childhood Cancer.


Male Bulldog Strength Award: Men’s Basketball player Jon Nwannunu


Female Bulldog Strength Award: Women’s Track and Field Ashlei Clodfelter


Biggest Community Fan: Jim Brazwell


Biggest Student-Supporter:  Kyle Hicks


Most Outstanding Coach: Elizabeth Lykins (Women’s Swimming)


Male Big Dog: Rob May (Men’s Soccer)


Female Big Dog: Ferriss Roberts (Women’s Soccer)


Bulldog Service and Leadership Award: Elizabeth Keil


Mike Gore Service: Award: Rebecca Nelms Keil


The Bulldog Awards went to the following student-athletes from each sport: Jeremy Atkinson (men’s basketball), Grace Blaylock (women’s basketball), A.J. Iames (men’s soccer), Kaitlyn Eckert (women’s soccer), Adrien Langeard (men’s tennis), Zoe Hamel (women’s tennis), Anna Moore (volleyball), Hallie Gillespie (women’s swimming), Ian Graham (baseball), Kevin Paradise (men’s cross country), Emma Bussard (women’s cross country), Milan Ristic (men’s track and field), Sarah Gentry (women’s track and field).


The Scholar-Athlete Awards went to the following student-athletes from each sport: Keith Hornsby (men’s basketball), Leah Wormack (women’s basketball), Bobby Castro (men’s soccer), Bria West (women’s soccer), Matt Waissen (men’s tennis), Zoe Hamel (women’s tennis), Chelsie Kenley (volleyball), Galen Broido (women’s swimming), Eli Miller (baseball), Rachel Carson (women’s cross country), Sebastian Paniagua (men’s cross country), Adrian Etheridge (women’s track and field) and Kurt Hibert (men’s track and field).

Golf Save the Date
Hardees Tall
Uploaded Ad
    Uploaded Ad
    Uploaded Ad
    Uploaded Ad
    Jason's Deli
    Hardees front