Dickey & Thompson Named Male & Female Athletes of Year

Courtesy: UNCABulldogs.com
Release: April 27, 2012
Send this article to a friend Print RSS
Share |
Article Image
Courtesy: UNC Asheville

ASHEVILLE, N.C. - The UNC Asheville Athletics Department recently held their annual "Ashby's" to recognize and honor the accomplishments from 2011-12 academic year.  The Ashby's were held on campus for the first ever inside Kimmel Arena.

Senior men's basketball player Matt Dickey was named Male Athlete of the Year, while senior women's basketball player Lindsey Thompson was named Female Athlete of the Year.

It's the second straight year that Dickey was named Male Athlete of the Year. The senior guard was named as Big South Conference Player of the Year this past season in leading the Bulldogs to their second straight championship and trip to the NCAA Tournament. He was Asheville's leading scorer with a 16.1 average and earned first team All-Conference honors for the second straight season.

Thompson was the women's basketball team's second leading scorer this past season with a 10.9 scoring average. She scored her 1,000th career point this year and became the school's all-time leader in three-pointers made with 203 treys. Thompson was one of the top free throw shooters in the nation for much of the year as she led the Bulldogs in that category at .880 (66-of-75).

Here is a list of the other awards that were handed out at the Ashby's.

Best Moment: Men's basketball's home win over Coastal Carolina

Record-Breaking Performance: J.P. Primm setting the career record for assists and steals in men's basketball.

Best Comeback Student-Athlete: J.J. Morrow (Men's Soccer)

Best Underdog Moment: Men's Soccer taking top-ranked UNC Chapel Hill to overtime

Female Big Dog: Sarah Gentry (Track and Field)

Male Big Dog: Milan Ristic (Track and Field)

Female Crush: Meredith Foster (Volleyball)

Male Crush: J.P. Primm (Men's Basketball)

Female Strength & Conditioning Award: Corey McClintock (Track and Field)

Male Strength & Conditioning Award: Sam Rossabi (Men's Soccer)

Most Outstanding Coach: Eddie Biedenbach (Men's Basketball)

Best Blooper: Claire Powell (Cross Country)

Biggest Fan: Roger Bower

Mike Gore Service Award: Dr. Ed Johnson

Biggest Fan (Student): Emily Hunnicutt

Christenberry Award (Male): J.J. Morrow (Men's Soccer)

Christenberry Award (Female: Emma Sell Goodhand (Women's Soccer)

Best Championship Performance: Men's Basketball

Athletic Director's Leadership Award: Emily Pineda


Watch Bulldog Athletics Live on the Big South Network

JOIN  |  
2015 Big South Conference Basketball Media Day
UNC Asheville - Charlotte Bobcats Press Conference
Asheville Invitational Press Conference