ROCK HILL, S.C. – The UNC Asheville men’s and women’s Indoor Track and Field team opened their 2013-14 season with some very impressive results at the Turkey Takedown held at Winthrop on Saturday.


The women’s team posted two first-places finishes, while the men’s team had one first-place finish.


Leading the way for the women’s team was distance runner Alyssa Lashway who won the 1,000 meters with a time of 3:06.44. The Bulldogs dominated the event as Rachel Carson (3:11.12) took third; Amy Castle (3:16.26) came in fifth with Kelsie Rubino (3:29.40) right behind her in sixth place. Marissa Banks (3:45.77) took eighth.


Also finishing first for the Blue & White was Argia Gibson in the long jump. She had a leap of 5.16 meters.


On the men’s side, Skyler Winchester won the 3000 meters with a time of 8:53.16. Brent Schouler came in fourth at 9:17.51, while Ryan Catrine was fifth at a time of 9:19.27.


The women’s team had some more good results in distance action. In the 3000 meters, Rubino came in second at 10:33.92. Kasey Briggs was in third place at 10:38.86. Katie Gamble took fifth at 11:05.


Anna Gelbach posted a time of 59.44 which was good for third in the 400 meters. Zoe Hickey finished fifth at 1:00.37.


In sprint action, Kassandra Pierre finished fourth in the 60-meters with a time of 8.15. Gibson was sixth at 8.18.


Corey McClintock took third in the weight throw as had a throw of 14.21 meters.


The men’s team had some highlights both on the track and in field events. Kurt Hibert came in third in the discus (46.79), fourth in the shot put (13.57) and fourth in the weight throw (15.39).


John Bellard earned a second-place finish in the high jump with a leap of 1.97 meters.


Courtney Henry finished second in the 60 meters with a time of 7.11 and took third in the long jump at 6.30 meters.


The Bulldogs dominated the 1,000 meters with five runners finishing in the top seven. Sebastian Panigua came in second at 2:39.45. Caleb Smith (2:39.85) was third, followed by Nathan Kirse (2:45.21) in fourth, Jeremy Gower (2:49.12) was sixth and Jacob Fink (3:05.41) came in seventh.