Intersport Announces Slam-Dunk Competitors and Judges
Release: 03/30/2011
John Williams
Courtesy: UNC Asheville

HOUSTON - UNC Asheville senior forward John Williams has found out who his competition will in the 23rd annual State Farm College Slam Dunk & 3-Point Championships that will be held Thursday night in Hofheinz Pavilion on the University of Houston campus and will premiere at 9 p.m. ET Thursday on ESPN2.

In the Denny's Slam Dunk Championship, Illinois College's Jacob Tucker, whose YouTube highlight video has garnered more than 2.6 million views, won a Facebook fan vote for the only non-Division I spot in the event. He will compete against seven players in the Denny's Slam Dunk Championship: Gilbert Brown, Pittsburgh; Justin Burrell, St. John's; Will Coleman, Memphis; Justin Tubbs, East Tennessee State; Billy White, San Diego State; Darnell Wilks, Cincinnati; and John Williams, UNC Asheville.

The judges panel for the Denny's Slam Dunk Championship: Hall of Famer and second-leading scorer in NBA history Karl Malone; Hall of Famer and former Houston Rocket Calvin Murphy; 2008 first-round NBA draft pick and Houston Rocket Courtney Lee; former Kentucky standout, current Houston Rocket and 2005 College Slam Dunk participant Chuck Hayes; and two-time Pro-Bowl participant and former Defensive Rookie of the Year, Houston Texan DeMeco Ryans.

The ESPN broadcast team includes Dan Dakich, Jimmy Dykes, Brad Nessler and Holly Rowe. The program will re-air numerous times on the ESPN networks.

Men's Basketball
Golf Save the Date
Hardees Tall
Uploaded Ad
    Uploaded Ad
    Uploaded Ad
    Uploaded Ad
    Jason's Deli
    Hardees front